workin’ for the weekend

For those of you who may not know, I work a 9-5 job. While I am very grateful and feel overwhelmingly blessed to have this job and to work in a friendly and relatively fun environment, it’s easy to let stress and fatigue wear you down. The going to work part is usually fine, as long as you enjoy what you’re doing (the jury is still out on that for me at the moment). It’s all of the other things that you need to fit in – the grocery shopping, yard work, meal planning, housekeeping. And not everyone has a husband as helpful as mine. After all that is done it’s easy to forget about the things you want to do and just sit in a heap on the couch, exhausted.

While I’m still feeling my way around the full-time job thing, I have come up with something that helps me to do the things I want to do so that I take time to have FUN when I’m not at work. Are you ready for the secret? Are you SURE?

Drum roll please….

…..

….

..

I make a list! (mind-shattering, right?)

I can actually see my brother rolling his eyes at me right now. But it really does help. It may seem lame to write down the “fun” things you want to do over the weekend, but once you get a running list, it’s motivating! Because no one wants to write down things like, “lay in bed really late until it’s time for lunch, finally take a shower and head out to find something to do at 3pm”. That’s not fun. That’s just plain lazy and I’m pretty sure you can go to hell for that.

Don’t get me wrong. I am all about lazy Saturdays in pjs and coffee and good books. But sometimes a girl needs some excitement! Especially in the winter when things can get really dull. But THIS weekend is especially exciting because it’s a three day weekend! Huzzah! I love you, MLK, Jr.!

So this weekend my list goes a little something like this:

  1. Go to Trader Joes (this is fun grocery shopping, so it’s okay)
  2. Drink French pressed coffee
  3. Do a sewing project
  4. See a movie
  5. Have dinner with our youth leaders from church
  6. Start seeds for our garden

What are you doing this weekend?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to workin’ for the weekend

  1. justinbrockett says:

    The same… thanks for asking though

  2. Artaxerxes says:

    I wish I was having dinner with the youth leaders. Instead I’ll prolly be ice climbing.

  3. Pam Brockett says:

    Shop, clean, and have pizza with our kids….yep that about sums it up for the weekend.

  4. Pingback: out of control |

  5. Pingback: the start of a garden |

Leave a Reply

