out of control

Lately I’ve felt like a lot of things in my life have been flying wildly out of control. Things including, but not limited to, my house keeping skills, my eating habits, keeping up with this blog, tax returns, helping Justin with youth group and of course, my job. It’s not that I ever really have any of this totally under control, but on occasion I fancy myself a rockstar and act like I have it all together. Just go with me here.

Justin and I were having a conversation a few days ago about the difference between “shutting off” and “shutting down”. Usually when life gets stressful or overwhelming or we just need a break (read: any night of the week) we both have the tendency to “shut off.” We go so far outside of our situation to relax and rest that we ignore the problem. Then when we come back to the stress and the problem, it’s still there, staring at us and judging us for eating a box of donuts and watching an entire season of Dexter in one afternoon.

So in an effort to regain some sort of control, I came home last night and hastily cleaned up the chaos that was our bedroom. Oh, and I didn’t have donuts for breakfast this morning.  I am going to take it one day at a time… and this weekend it is back to list making! I’ve found that when I have no motivation what.so.ever, that just doing SOMETHING can be very motivating. The bedroom cleaning and donut-not-eating has got me on a roll! We are going to do some spring cleaning and organizing and I am stoked! Who knows, we might even go to the – gasp – grocery store to – gasp – eat dinner at home. Progress people!

And just as a reminder of my new-found motivation, I’m putting up this little number in the office. And maybe even at my desk at work!

Rockstar, baby.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to out of control

  1. esther. says:

    Ahaha. I bet we were watching the same season of Dexter at the same moment in time.

  2. Justin says:

    I get awesome all the time

  3. You go with your bad self

Leave a Reply

