processing my jars

Aloha! I hope everyone had a wonderful holiday weekend! Ours was fantastic-o! I will be sharing more of our adventures later this week, hopefully, but first I thought I would show you all what I’ve been up to in the kitchen as well as add a check mark to the list. I’ve been super pumped to try my hand at canning this year, and I can finally say I have successfully done it! Well… I guess we’ll have to wait a year and try everything to see just how well it really went… and pray we don’t get food poisoning that it tastes good. Please forgive my photos… it looked like this outside.

So here’s how it went down. I decided to follow this recipe because I did it last year (sans canning) and it was delish. I did end up skipping the overnight macerating, mostly because I am impatient and partly because I never plan these things out. Which brings me to my next point. If you’re going to can, you don’t have to have a million special canning tools, but it IS a good idea to make sure you have everything you need – ideally before you start. Although it worked out well in the end, I didn’t get a chance to grab a wire rack for the bottom of my canning pot, so I used a folded kitchen towel as the recipe suggested. It worked, but it gave me a lot less room in the pot and took longer to process all my jars. See how fancy I am now? I say things like “process my jars” – it’s whatev.

The jam turned out  really great and turns out it is super delicious by the spoonful and/or on waffles. I’m excited to try my tomatoes in the summer!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to processing my jars

  1. Marisa says:

    I’m delighted to hear that the recipe worked for you and that you’re happy with your jam! That’s wonderful!

Leave a Reply

